Four Type Systems

This blog is about all sort of personality systems based on four categories.

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

On 3:38 PM by Jane Rekas in    No comments
"To hazard a guess, we would propose that Matthew is choleric, Luke the relationship-oriented sanguine, Mark the straight story, simple and unadorned (phlegmatic), and John (the truth will set you free; the only Gospel where Christ carries the cross alone, the most poetic and mystical of all four gospels) –idealistic, melancholic."

Understanding Temperament - The Primary Building Block of Life

Christian tradition has long connected the authors of the four canonical Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John) with the four "living creatures" that surround God's throne, as described inRev 4:7, in the following pairs:

Early Christian AuthorHuman/AngelLionOxEagle
St. Irenaeus of LyonsMatthewJohnLukeMark
St. Augustine of HippoMarkMatthewLukeJohn
St. JeromeMatthewMarkLukeJohn


Post a Comment